Paris – Day 2

Originally posted on Blogger on 3 April 2015

The next morning we decided to wake up early and go to the Eiffel Tower. We were attempting we avoid most of the crowds that collect later in the day. Unfortunately, it was foggy/smoggy so the view wasn’t that great.

Even though we got there early, we still had to stand in another long queue. While standing next to/in one of the tallest buildings in the world, what should a French Revolution and Les Miserables obsessed twenty-two do except take photos?

DSCN0416
Out the window of our room at the hostel
DSCN0421
First view of the Eiffel Tower that morning

DSCN0423

DSCN0424

DSCN0427

After the line and after we bought our tickets, we got in another line to take the lift up to the top. Even through the smog/fog, the view was beautiful.

DSCN0434

DSCN0435

DSCN0438

I can’t remember whether some of these were taken from the first or second observation level. It would’ve been a plus if there hadn’t been so much smog/fog, but I’m still glad we went to the top.

Another side effect was that especially on the second observation level it was cold. I don’t typically get cold, but even I was starting to admit it was a little nippy. Sooner than we wanted and sooner than we would’ve in summer, we went down.

On the way, something happened. Before I tell you this story, I want you to know I’m fine. All that happened was I broke the lens cover on my camera and I got a nasty bruise. We were walking down, it was all good. I was a little light-headed from the lift going so fast on the way down, but it was actually pretty neat because I had a good view. The lift was full, so I could’ve easily ended up in the middle and had to stare at people’s backs. We got to a point where one had the option of walking down instead of taking the lift, so we decided to do that to see the view more as we got closer to the ground and get photos at different angles.

The way it was built is that it isn’t a long spiral, it’s several short staircases with landings in between (for which I’m now grateful). Somewhere along the way, I slid. Whether it was because I slid on my pants or because I was wearing sneakers with no grips or because the steel was wet, whatever happened, it doesn’t matter. I ended up sliding down a good two-thirds of the staircase, dropping my camera and getting a horrid bruise.

DSCN0442

DSCN0445
I was later able to obtain this photo in poster form at a kiosk on the Champs-Elysees

The photos I took on the way down before I slid

DSCN0449

DSCN0450

DSCN0452

DSCN0451

DSCN0453
First photo after slide. Almost the entire Eiffel Tower in one photo. Success!

Next, a walk by the Arc de Triumph and down the Champs-Elysees.

DSCN0459
Arc de Triumph
DSCN0460
Champs-Elysees
DSCN0461
Lunch at Brioche Doree: Chicken, pesto and tomato sandwich

DSCN0463

DSCN0468
Street performance
DSCN0470
Expensive, but authentic French macaroons. I got a coconut and a chocolate

Back to walking down the Champs-Elysees

DSCN0474

DSCN0475

DSCN0476

DSCN0479

DSCN0480

DSCN0481

DSCN0484
The old Paris rail station clock

DSCN0485

Then we went to Notre-Dame Cathedral, and as usual when it’s a Catholic service, I didn’t understand a word being that I’ve never studied Latin or French. It wasn’t an official Mass, I looked at it through a historical lens like I’ve been learning to do from my Reformation class. It wasn’t something I would’ve done on my own, but it was interesting, so thanks to the group of people I was hanging out with.

DSCN0492
The outside
DSCN0491
Gargoyles
DSCN0495
A doorway

After the service, we decided we were hungry and didn’t want to wait around until 18:30 for the Mass. For dinner, Hayley took us up to Montmartre. It’s a section of Paris that’s built on a hill above the rest of the city.

DSCN0498
Paris from Montmartre

 

DSCN0500
The Basilique de Sacre-Coeur de Montmartre

Then we went up into the town to find dinner

DSCN0507
Another view of Paris
DSCN0508
RENT moment in Montmartre

DSCN0509

DSCN0510

DSCN0511

DSCN0512
Miss Saigon moment in Montmartre
DSCN0514
Where we ate dinner
DSCN0513
Eating Italian in France…

Our waiter didn’t ask us about dessert and gave us the check. Otherwise, there would be another photo of a nutella crepe at the bottom of this blog. We made up for it with conversation and chocolate digestives at the hostel.

Leave a Reply

