That Time of Year…

Originally posted on Blogger on 28 April 2015

Yep, it’s that time of year again. The time of year when university/college students are in the middle of – or about to start – the time of year most dreaded: final exam week.

I was in luck this year as I’ve done four out of five of my finals already, have one more tomorrow afternoon, then I’m done. Some people are about to start their final exams in the next few days, while I’m looking at the end of mine. It’s definitely been a crazy last couple weeks, but this semester has been amazing and the five courses I got ended up being a good combination. I had no doubt from the second I saw my schedule that it would be a good semester, and not only because I’d be spending it in England.

The courses turned out to be a great combination of interesting topics. I got to write papers on five different Shakespeare plays, one on traditional Christianity, another on the English Reformation – you know that thing that happened because Henry VIII got fed up with Katherine of Aragon and fell in love with Anne Boleyn – and one on film adaptions of Macbeth and how they deal with violence. I also got to write about the Globe and Elizabethan theatre for my theatre midterm and write a production prospectus for a production of Henry IV: Part 1 and put it in revolutionary France. Admittedly, I forgot to specify which end of the Revolution of 1789, so it’s unclear if the rebels are Robespierre, Desmoulins, Saint-Just, etc. or if they’re the people who killed Robespierre, Saint-Just, etc.

Being able to write about so many different topics that I like and have it count for a grade is quite rewarding. I knew I was passionate, but it’s quite a different thing when on every single piece of coursework, you obtain somewhere between an A and a B. Grades aren’t everything, but it’s still nice to be able to go home with the knowledge that I can produce concise, well written essays on the stuff I’m passionate about. So much of it comes from reading about the topics continually for years, so it’s nice to have others acknowledge what I spend much of my free time doing.

Leave a Reply

