“There’s No Place Like London”

Originally posted on Blogger on 23 May 2015

My last day – 1 May – I didn’t want to leave. It was something I’d been dreading since I got off the plane in mid-January. I knew though that there would be a way for me to find my way back after I had graduated from Susquehanna University. It was bittersweet because I wanted to see my family, be back in the States, have my room back, but I didn’t want to leave my friends or London. I’d been living in a city for a semester and I was going back to southwestern Massachusetts. I loved being able to go out whenever I wanted and wander around on my own. I’m so glad for the opportunity.

The first thing I did was go back to the Prince Edward Theatre. I wrote about this in an earlier blog, but here’s one of my favourites.

DSCN1391

One of my favourite cross streets in London.

DSCN1410.JPG
An area known for theatre and a street known for bookshops. For me, it doesn’t get better

After I left the West End, I took the Tube from Leicester Square to Waterloo and used the Waterloo Bridge to cross the Thames.

DSCN1416.JPG

DSCN1421.JPG

DSCN1425.JPG

DSCN1427

DSCN1429

DSCN1433

DSCN1436

DSCN1439

There was a street fair under one of the bridges with cuisine from Spain, Mexico and Latin America.

DSCN1440

DSCN1441

DSCN1442.JPG

DSCN1467

DSCN1473

DSCN1475
This poem is written under Southwark Bridge

I spent a lot of time sitting on the concrete that separates the walkway from the Thames for safety. Usually, if one fell off one side they would end up injured and in the Thames, but at low tide a rocky shore becomes visible and one can walk next to the Thames like with the ocean or a lake. Usually, I’d eat lunch and/or dinner there. I’d get it from Pret a Manger or EAT, then bring it down to the Thames and enjoy it while looking out and watching the boats, barges and people going by. On my final day, I went down to the sand.

DSCN1478

DSCN1480

DSCN1481

DSCN1483

DSCN1485

DSCN1491

DSCN1494

After dinner from Pret and reading, I went back to RUL and hung out with friends. Later, after it was dark, a group of us took the Tube back to Westminster and had a photo shoot from Westminster Bridge.

DSCN1499.JPG

DSCN1501

DSCN1502

DSCN1503

DSCN1507

DSCN1513

DSCN1521

DSCN1519

DSCN1522

DSCN1524

 

My semester in London was one of the best experiences of my life. I’m grateful to Susquehanna University and my parents for letting me do it and for making it happen on every level. There were a couple glitches throughout the process of getting to London (including getting lost at Heathrow when we first arrived), but so much of it was amazing, and the experience was worth the little moments I wanted to be home.

I hope I have captured some of what I went through, and want to explore options on how I can return to London in the near future. In my mind, the line of the title of this blog is true. Though it’s from Sweeney Todd, which is pretty dark, this one line is true and applicable to reality. London holds so many memories for me. It was true when I boarded the plane for this trip and it will be true for all future ones as well. There are so many cities in Europe that I want to explore and some I want to return to. London will always hold a special place in my heart because it was the first city I lived in on my own.

There are still places in London I haven’t been, so I know wherever life takes me after I complete my years at Susquehanna, I know I will find my way back to the place that whether because of history or my own memories, has lingered in my mind since I discovered its history in middle school.

Leave a Reply

